Digital Storytelling & Resistance Presents: 12 Manifestos!

Wednesday, December 14, 2016
6:00 – 7:30 PM
Frank-Ratchye STUDIO for Creative Inquiry
CFA 111, Carnegie Mellon University

This can be absurd, practical, radical, idealistic, contradictory, hostile, hopeful, utopian, dystopian, and everything in-between and beyond.A manifesto reading event and book release party!
Featuring students in Prof. Angela Washko’s Digital Storytelling & Resistance courseReadings by Anna Rosati, Becca Epstein, Bridget Quirk, Char Stiles, Darrius Fletcher, Hizal Celik, Gerald Warhaftig, Kasem Kydd, Maddy Varner, Orianna Green, Patrick Miller-Gamble, and Tina Goparaju.

In October, students in Digital Storytelling & Resistance were asked to write unconventional manifestos on underrepresented topics in response to the contemporary climate and their personal experience which could be “absurd, practical, idealistic, contradictory, hostile, hopeful, dystopian, in-between and beyond.”

They took cues from the manifestos that came before theirs- reading F.T. Marinetti, Wyndham Lewis, Kazimir Malevich, Frank O’Hara, Valerie Solanas, George Maciunas, Situationist International, Gilbert & George, Ad Reinhardt, Claes Oldenburg, Donna Haraway, Mierle Laderman Ukeles, Zoe Leonard, Bread and Puppet Theater, Lady Jaye & Genesis Breyer P-Orridge, Laboria Cuboniks, VNS Matrix, Martine Syms, Morehshin Allahyari & Daniel Rourke, K-Hole, Working Artists and the Greater Economy, and more.

Their manifestos cover topics including abstraction, the data body, bad art, rejuvenating spaces for oppressed people, human-plant communication, disability and spectacle, inertia, audio processing software, fetishized heteronormativity, halting global production, expressive prosthesis, distribution of resources, among many others…and they wrote these texts situated in the present, aware of the past, and speculating other futures.

Please join the class as they present readings of their manifestos and celebrate the publishing of their book – which will be available to the first 30 people who arrive at the event!